IEEE India Council

IEEE India Council is the umbrella organisation which coordinates IEEE activities in India. Its primary aim is to assist and coordinate the activities of local “Sections”, in order to benefit mutually, and avoid duplication of effort and resources. IEEE India Council was established on 20th May 1976 and is one of the five councils in the Asia Pacific Region (Region #10 of IEEE).


An “IEEE Section” is an IEEE entity which caters to the needs of a specified geographical area. At present, there are 13 IEEE Sections in India (listed alphabetically):

  • Bangalore Section
  • Bombay Section
  • Delhi Section
  • Gujarat Section
  • Hyderabad Section
  • Kerala Section
  • Kharagpur Section
  • Kolkata Section
  • Madhya Pradesh Section
  • Madras Section
  • Pune Section
  • Uttar Pradesh Section
  • Vizag Bay Section

Student Branches

An “IEEE Student Branch” is an IEEE entity which helps students in a specific educational institution. Presently there are over 500 student branches located in all major Universities and Engineering Colleges all over India. Each Student Branch is attached to the nearest IEEE Section.


An “IEEE Chapter” groups IEEE members who share a common interest in a specific domain. Usually Chapters are attached to the nearest IEEE Section. Some Chapters have decided to be directly attached to the India Council. The following Eight Chapters are attached to the IEEE India Council:

Official Website of IEEE India Council